

The MTASA Competitions Day

Miriam Hyde Awards, Reimann-Robinson Scholarship, and Norman Sellick Memorial Prize

Venue: Cynthia Poulton Hall, St Peter's Cathedral, North Adelaide When: 24 June 2017 from 9 am

Conditions of Entry

1. The competition is open to

Competition	Open to	Age limit
The Miriam Hyde Open Award	all instrumental/vocal students	students of any age
The Miriam Hyde Junior Award	of any member of the MTASA or related organizations	students under 15 years
The Reimann-Robinson	all instrumental/vocal students	students 18 years or under
Scholarship	of any member of the MTASA	on the closing day of entry
The Norman Sellick Memorial	who are teaching in a private	students 12 years or under
Prize	capacity	on the closing day of entry

2. The value of the Award/Scholarships are:-

Competition	1 st prize	2 nd prize	Entry fee (Non-refundable)
The Miriam Hyde Open Award	\$500	\$200	\$25
The Miriam Hyde Junior Award	\$200	\$100	\$15
The Reimann-Robinson Scholarship	\$500	NA	\$25
The Norman Sellick Memorial Prize	\$500	NA	\$25

all at the discretion of the adjudicator

3. Eligibility

The Miriam Hyde Open Award	NA			
The Miriam Hyde Junior Award	NA			
The Reimann-Robinson	Current holders of the Norman Sellick Memorial Prize, the			
Scholarship	George Pearce Prize, the AMEB 7th Grade Practice of			
	Music Scholarship and previous winners of the Reimann-			
	Robinson Scholarship are not eligible to enter.			
The Norman Sellick Memorial	Previous winners of the Norman Sellick Memorial Prize are			
Prize	not eligible to enter			
BTO				

COMPETITION DAY ENTRY FORM Closing Date of Entry <u>Friday June 16, 2017</u>

PLEASE PRINT CLEARLY IN BLOCK LETTERS

Name of Student		
Date of Birth		
Accompanist		
Teacher's Name		
Teacher's Address		
Teacher's contact number		
Teacher's email		
Please indicate by signing below that you have read and agreed to the "Conditions of Entry"		
Teacher's Signature		

Complete the entry by providing the following to: The Secretary, MTASA, PO Box 4 RUNDLE MALL SA 5000 or email info@mtasa.com.au

1) Competition (Please circle)

<i>′</i>	Miriam Hvde Open	Miriam Hyde Junior	Reimann-Robinson	Norman Sellick
	Millian riyue Open	Miriam Hyde Junior		Norman Sellick

2) Detail of works to be performed and accurate times

	Title and Composer	Time
a)		
b)		
c)		

- 3) The following completed forms; a) This form, b) APRA AMCOS No.1 form
- 4) Provide an original copy of the music, OR a photocopy of the music together with a completed APRA AMCOS Form No 2, for use by the adjudicator. This original copy or photocopy, which must be supplied with the bars numbered, may be provided with the entry or shall be provided on the day of competition, immediately prior to the commencement of the competition. Photocopies supplied must be marked "Adjudication Copy Only." Note: This copy will be destroyed by the MTASA on completion of the competition.
- 5) Your entry fee of \$25.00 or \$15.00 (not subject to GST) (Non–refundable). Cheques shall be made payable to:-The Music Teachers' Association of SA Inc or Deposit to Account. A/C Name: Music Teachers Assoc of SA; BSB: 015 010 A/C # 2868 81594 Reference: MHO/MHJ/RR/NS"Your name"

4. Works to be performed

Competition		а	b	С	Time limit (playing time)
	Works by three composers are to be performed, one of which is to be by Miriam Hyde.	Baroque / Classical	Romantic /Modern	Miriam Hyde	
The Miriam Hyde Open		*Singers may sing up to three songs by the same composer for each category.			Min 15 minutes, max 25 minutes
Award		At least one wor		/	max 25 minutes
		The works performed must be of at least Grade 7 AMEB standard or equivalent.			
		Baroque / Classical	Romantic /Modern	Miriam Hyde	
The Miriam		* Singers may sing up to three songs by the same composer for each category.			Min 8 minutes,
Hyde Junior Award		At least one work is to be played from memory.			max 15 minutes
Awaru		The works performed must be at least Grade 4 AMEB standard or equivalent. There is no upper limit.			
The Reimann-Robinson Scholarship		Any number of works may be presented within the time limit. (There is no restrictions on program)		Between 15 - 20 minutes	
The Norman Sellick Memorial Prize		TWO contrasting works to be performed		Max 10 minutes	

5. The performer is expected to tune his/her own instrument.

6. No coaching is permitted during performance.

- 7. No still or video photographing or audio recording permitted during performance.
- 8. Candidates must submit the titles and timings of works at the time of entry.
- 9. Copyright laws shall be observed by each entrant including completing and providing, a) Entry Form;
 - b) APRA AMCOS Form No 1; and

c) An additional original copy of the music, OR a photocopy of the music together with a completed APRA AMCOS Form No 2, for the adjudicator.

APRA/AMCOS Forms 1, 2 and 3 can be downloaded from

http://apraamcos.com.au/media/5685/educational-licensing-copyright-declaration-form.pdf

- 10. Candidates are required to attend 10 minutes before their session.
- 11. The scholarship will not be awarded if an acceptable standard is not attained.
- 12. The competition will not be held unless three entries are received.
- 13. As this is a concert, it is expected that the students stay for the entire session.
- 14. The decision of the adjudicator is final. The Music Teachers' Association of SA Inc accepts no responsibility for the decision.

For further information contact: The Secretary info@mtasa.com.au or 0402 575 219